Your passion for healthy living brought you here - let's keep talking!X
18 Most Sickening Food Ingredients
What it is: Vegetarians prepare to be shocked! The same stuff that puts the jiggle in Jello and other gelatin-based products is derived from collagen, a protein often collected from animal skins.
The source varies depending on the type of food, says Andrew L. Milkowsi, PhD, adjunct professor of animal sciences at the University of Wisconsin Madison. The gelatin in desserts, for instance, comes mainly from pig skin.
Where you’ll find it: Gelatin, which is a thickening agent, can also be found in frosted cereals, yogurt, candy, and some types of sour cream. (Check the label.)
Gross-out factor: High for vegetarians, low for everyone else.
Get the latest health, fitness, anti-aging, and nutrition news, plus special offers, insights and updates from Health.com!